was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Where we discuss new analog design ideas for Pro Audio and modern spins on vintage ones.
User avatar
mediatechnology
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Oak Cliff, Texas
Contact:

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by mediatechnology » Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:02 am

I have some Hypex nCore modues on my bench right now that are in a client's bass amp.

Do you see about 1V P-P of residual carrier on the output?
https://ka-electronics.com

SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS should advance FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Yet too many Americans have seen their accounts suspended, banned, or fraudulently reported for unclear “violations” of user policies.
No matter your views, if you suspect political bias caused such an action to be taken against you, share your story with President Trump.

White House Tech Censorship Reporting Link: https://whitehouse.typeform.com/to/Jti9QH

billshurv
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:07 am

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by billshurv » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:20 am

Sounds about right if its at a few hundred kHz

https://www.stereophile.com/content/aud ... asurements for example.

User avatar
JR.
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by JR. » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:56 am

mediatechnology wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:02 am
I have some Hypex nCore modues on my bench right now that are in a client's bass amp.

Do you see about 1V P-P of residual carrier on the output?
Hypex FAQ wrote: 2 Q: I hooked up my UcD to an oscilloscope and I see some HF sine wave at about 400 kHz. Is this normal?

A: Yes. The 400kHz signal you see at the output of the amplifier is the residue of the switching nature of class D amplifiers. This is completely normal and does no harm. For more information please refer to our EMI application note.
Sorry no I have not put scope to the output, but the HYPEX class D is different from typical class d amps. Bruno connects NF to the very output and uses the natural lag of the switching stages and simple LPF to cause it to alternate, most class D amps take feedback from the nominal output before running through a big honking LP output filter that can introduce impedance changes and other stuff in the audio band.

https://www.hypex.nl/img/upload/doc/an_ ... nd_EMI.pdf Here is the emi note written by Bruno himself.
====
I am getting closer to final assembly on my new surround sound system, but taking my time (measure three times cut once).

I am adding 10k attenuator trim pots to each input for balance trim while the different Hypex modules in Ucd series use a fixed 26dB gain.

The hypex amp modules have a 5V DC output so I could actually power my digital decoder from one of the amp modules but choose not to, since I will continue looking to upgrade that... Note: The new cheap chinese 5.1 decoder is significantly different from the first one. If I leave the TV monitor speaker on with the surround playing I used to get a short combing between center speaker and TV speakers (less than 2 feet away). Now there is clearly a few tens of mSec more delay inside the decoder, not sure what this means if anything, but seems to work better than the old (cheap) one.

I still need to strip the relays off the output board and sort out the wiring.

JR

PS: I had a little drama trying to grok the pinning on the 22pin audio input connector, and figured it out from following the traces on the PCB... today looking at the data sheet I notice they label both pins 1 and pin 2... duh.

User avatar
JR.
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by JR. » Sun May 12, 2019 7:31 pm

Ran out of things to double check, and guessed right on a couple.... fired it up and now making good sounds and no smoke.

I will check it out further tomorrow for now I'm watching movies.

JR

PS: I miss the meters on my old cheap amps.

User avatar
mediatechnology
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Oak Cliff, Texas
Contact:

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by mediatechnology » Sun May 12, 2019 8:16 pm

Nice!

So what kind of meters did the old amp have?
https://ka-electronics.com

SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS should advance FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Yet too many Americans have seen their accounts suspended, banned, or fraudulently reported for unclear “violations” of user policies.
No matter your views, if you suspect political bias caused such an action to be taken against you, share your story with President Trump.

White House Tech Censorship Reporting Link: https://whitehouse.typeform.com/to/Jti9QH

User avatar
JR.
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: was HYPEX amps cheap surround system

Post by JR. » Sun May 12, 2019 11:39 pm

mediatechnology wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 8:16 pm
Nice!

So what kind of meters did the old amp have?
three separate stereo amps,,, lots of LED meters.

I need to see what I end up with for a front end.. the new (cheap) decoder is way better than the old one but still can get stupid and lose sync requiring a power down/up reset.

New amp sounds different but I haven't put my finger on it yet... nothing wrong, so maybe good for a change. :lol:

JR

[edit- using a variant on the multiplex LEDs in my drum tuner (3x12) I could make a 6x10 LED meters with that one 16 line latch/driver and 6 high side mosfets. That would be a lot of LEDs but not much of anything else. The hypex has a 5V@ 100mA supply available so I can easily power the meter and maybe even a few opamps.. or just use it as is. :roll: /edit]

[edit2] after a second night of watching movies without meters, I miss them less and less. :lol: I was going to dig in and check some more, but sounds too good to mess with for now, maybe next weekend. [/edit]

Post Reply